Subsurface Biogeochemical Research. Click to return to home page.
Department of Energy Office of Science. Click to visit main DOE SC site.

Subsurface Biogeochemical Research Program

External Recognition of SBR-Funded Investigators

Researchers funded by the Department of Energy’s Subsurface Biogeochemical Research program receive numerous awards for their scientific achievements. Following is a select list highlighting some of these awards.

2017 Awards

V. M. Goldschmidt Award
J. Banfield, University of California, Berkeley

Geochemical Fellow, Geochemical Society
and European Association of Geochemistry

S. Fendorf, Stanford University
J. Davis, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
P. Santschi, Texas A&M University

2016 Awards

SEG Outstanding Educator Award
E. Atekwana, Oklahoma State University

Inaugural Editor-in-Chief of
ACS Earth and Space Chemistry

J. Blum, University of Michigan

Mineralogical Association of Canada Peacock Medal
P. Burns, University of Notre Dame

GSA Fellow
B. Gu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

AAAS Fellows
B. Gu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Harold B. Mooney Award
S. Hubbard, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

R&D 100 Award
T. Johnson, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

ACS Garvan-Olin Medal
A. Kersting, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

AAM Fellows
F. Loeffler, Oak Ridge National Laboratory / University of Tennessee

Berkeley Lab Director Award for Early Career Scientific Achievement
H. Wainwright, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Director, Glenn T. Seaborg Institute
M. Zavarin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

2015 Awards

Corresponding Member
J. Banfield, University of California-Berkeley

AAAS Fellows
T. Barkay, Rutgers University

AGU James B. Macelwane Medal
K. Maher, Stanford University


Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Prize
M. Ye, University of Central Florida

2014 Awards

Researcher of the Year
B. Gu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Excellence in Reviews
B. Gu, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
D. Kaplan, Savannah River National Laboratory

Stanley I. Auerbach Award, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
A. Johs, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds
D. Lovley, University of Massachusetts

AAAS Fellows
D. Lovley, University of Massachusetts
M. Mayes, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

SC Governor’s Young Scientist Award
B. Powell, Clemson University

Subaru Outstanding Women in Science
A. Riscassi, University of Virginia

AGU Fellow
P. Santschi, Texas A&M University

EPA SAB – Environmental Engineering Committee
M. Scherer, University of Iowa
C. Werth, University of Illinois–Urbana-Champaign

SEC Faculty Achievement Award
J. Wall, University of Missouri

Darcy Lecturer
D. Wildenschild, Oregon State University

DOE Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award 2014 winner
J. Zhou, University of Oklahoma

2013 Awards

2013 C.C. Patterson Award
J. Blum, University of Michigan

Paul Niggli Medal, Swiss Society of Mineralogy and Petrology
B. Dafflon, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

EnvironMetal Isotopes – Best Junior Scientist Presentation
J. Druhan, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

ES&T Associate Editor
D. Giammar, Washington University–St. Louis

AAAS Fellows
T. Hazen, University of Tennessee
B. Tebo, Oregon Health and Science University

GSA Fellow
M. Ye, Florida State University

2012 Awards

AGU Fellows
J. Blum, University of Michigan
P. Jaffe, Princeton University

AAAS Fellow
F. Geiger, Northwestern University

2011 Awards

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
H. Hsu-Kim, Duke University

GSA Fellow
C. Liu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

2010 Award

Darcy Lecturer
T. Scheibe, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

2008 Awards

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
A. Tartakovsky, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

2006 Awards

DOE Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award 2006 winner
J. Zachara, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

  • Office of Science Graduate Student Research program now accepting applications.  Applications due May 9, 2019. Detailed information.
  • Subsurface Biogeochemical Research
    • Pre-Application due 02/14/2019
    • Submission Deadline: 04/11/2019
  • Terrestrial Ecosystem Science
    • Pre-Applications due (required): Jan 24, 2019; 5 pm Eastern
    • Proposals due: Mar 29, 2019; 11:59 pm Eastern
  • Early Career Research Program
    • Pre-Application due 02/06/2019
    • Submission Deadline: 04/29/2019
  • Early Career Research Program
    DOE National Laboratories

    LAB 19-2019
    • Pre-Application due 02/06/2019
    • Submission Deadline: 04/29/2019

See Also:

Subsurface Biogeochemical-Related BER Research Highlights

Submit Research Highlight

Search Submitted Highlights

Now Featuring

2019 ESS PI Meeting

Registration is now open for the April 30-May 1, ESS PI Meeting. See WEBSITE for more details.

CESD Strategic Plan 2018

Climate and Environmental Sciences Division (CESD) Strategic Plan 2018 (PDF; 14MB)

Subsurface Biogeochemical Research Overview

April 2018 [PDF]